Reflection Day – Joshua Tree

Tuesday Nov. 24, 2009

__________________________________________________________________

Summary ::

Tuesdays are a day of Sabbath, a day of reflection, a day devoted with the Lord. On this Tuesday HSE headed out on our large buses to a nearby national park. In this place special plants grow called Joshua trees, hence the name Joshua Tree Nation Park. Just as desert plants are created to have deep roots to survive in dry areas as to reach far into the ground and draw up water, students sat silently by themselves on rocks and in surrounding nature to deepen their own roots in the Word to draw from the wellspring of life.

__________________________________________________________________

Testimony ::

Jeff Kuhn ::

Mike, Zach and I went to Home Depot in preparation for the service projects that were to follow the next day. We stopped by in-n-out for dinner and met Lupe, the cashier in the drive thru. I asked her if she had any living water. She smiled and said she had never heard of it but was very curious as to what it was.

We handed her a gospel of John book that said “Living Water” on the cover. She gladly accepted it and began to flip through it. The drive thru line was crowded so we asked if we could pray for her. She said “yes” and as I prayed for her, her eyes began to tear up. She graciously thanked us and told us she was going to read John that evening.

__________________________________________________________________

Monique Blanton ::

After a jampacked week of practical serving and outreaches, we reach our second sabbath day of rest since arriving at the Coachella Valley. I really looked forward to the change of pace and opportunity to refocus, making sure I remain God-focused. This sabbath day we had the option to spend our time at Joshua Tree National Park.

I was kind of skeptical on how much the desert has to offer, but I found myself overwhelmed by all the beauty found there. The rock formations were unlike anything I’ve personally seen before, and the wildlife was surprisingly not as scarce as I thought it would be. In fact a small desert squirrel decided to join me during my time of prayer and meditation. He was bold enough to take a front row seat on my right leg. It did scare me a little since I wasn’t sure what it was at first.

We had a great time at Joshua Tree, I got to take personal inventory of my heart and attitude during my time spent in Coachella Valley. To have that chance to check in with my Holy Father if I’m loving others like He does. I would ask him “How can I have more compassion?” and “how can you do this incredible work through me?” At the end of our time there I came back refreshed, recharged and with the understanding that God’s answer to all my questions and concerns was simply “I Love you.”

__________________________________________________________________

Love Out Loud Tour :: Reflection Day – Joshua Tree

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Leave a comment